You can access the BuddyCircles settings from Dashboard->settings->BuddyCircles. The settings screen allows you to control the behaviour of BuddyCircles.
Here you can specify what slug you want to use in the url of circle tab. It must be a valid value without any space. Example-lists, list, user-groups are valid value but ‘user groups’ is not.
Who Can Create:-
You can either allow all user to create circles or limit it by roles as shown below.
Circle Tab or Use inside friends:-
Keep circle under option allows you to use circle as a top level component or make it work inside the friends component depending on your choice.
- Top Level Component:- A New circles tab will be added to the user account menu.
- Under Friends Component:- If it is selected, No top level tab will be added. A new sub tab will be added under Friends tab.
Who Can be added to the circle:-
This option allows you to control who a user can add to their circle
- All Members:- Any member of the site can be added in the circle.
- Friends Only:- A user can only add their friends to their circles.
You can enable which privacy levels are available to the user while creating circles.
It allows you to automatically create default circles for user when their account is activated. It will only create the default circles for new users registered/activated after the pluginactivation.
You can specify the list of default circles as strings separated by “|” as shown below.
Enabled notification Types:- You can select the notification methods enabled.
- Local Notification:- Uses BuddyPress Notifications to notify the user.
- Email Notification:- Sends email to the user.
User Addition to Circle Notification:-
You can control if the notification for user getting added to a circle is enabled or not. You can also customize the notification message subject and content.
User Removal From Circle Notification:-
You can control if the user will get notified when removed from a circle or not. Here is a screenshot showing the available options.