There has been a recent update on the BuddyBoss platform where changing a profile type in the All Users section updates the linked WP-role – this hadn’t been working for a few months.
Previously, using the BuddyPress Auto Join Groups plugin, when changing a user to a profile type which is linked with a group they would automatically join it, but when changing the persons profile type something else it would remove them from that group – this isn’t happening anymore.
I’ve logged a call with BuddyBoss, they’ve investigated and suggested it’s the BuddyPress Auto Join Groups plugin that isn’t working.
If the profile type is changed, that person remains a member of the group that was automatically joined previously where they should be removed.
Is this something you can investigate please?
I can send details of my staging site if necessary.
I have checked with BuddyBoss Platform and BuddyPress Auto Join Groups and it is working fine for me whenever I am changing profile type from both frontend and the all user section screen in the admin section all associated groups with the profile type are added to the user’s group list.
Please let me know if your problem is with the removal of existing groups when the profile type changed.
Auto joining works fine, it is with the removal of existing groups when the profile type changes. If someone has auto-joined a group, when their profile type is changed again they used to be removed from the group they had auto-joined.
It used to work well and is a really important feature to us.
Hope you can get it working again.
I have looked into the plugin and I do not see any option that allows you to syn user groups.
Is there any chance that you are using some custom code supplied by us to sync groups? If yes, Can you please point me to the code.
I didn’t receive any custom code.
It just worked, when an auto list was setup a member would be automatically added to a BuddyBoss group based on the list criteria, and if their profile type was changed they’d be subsequently removed from the group.
That’s why I asked about custom code. We added an API function to enable syncing but we did not enable it nor put any option in the plugin to have it enabled.
Unless you used some custom code which called our API for syncing, It is not feasible to enable syncing.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.