The BuddyPress Avatar Moderator plugin has been a great addition to our platform; thanks for continuing to develop such useful plugins. After using it for some time, we have a couple of questions about how it works:
– When a user deletes themselves or is deleted by an administrator, the contents of the “old” folder remain (/wp-content/uploads/avatars/user ID/old). This means the user cannot delete all of their own data when deleting their account. Ideally, if a user is deleted the “old” folder should also be deleted. Is it possible for this to occur?
– When an admin deletes an avatar either from the backend or frontend, the “old” folder is created and copies of the deleted avatars are placed in here (i.e. not actually deleted).
– If the user deletes their avatar themselves, the “old” folder is created and copies of the deleted avatars are placed in here (i.e. not actually deleted).
– If a user uploads a photo for moderation that is rejected, the “old” folder is also created, but it is empty. The rejected photo is actually deleted/removed completely.
– As an interim measure, is it okay for us to delete the “old” folder and its contents directly through FTP? Is this safe to do? Would this cause any issues?
Thanks for your assistance.
Thank you for using the plugin and reporting the issues.
1. On User delete, old folder is not being deleted:- It is a bug. We will have the fix in next update
2. On avatar delete a copy is created.
This is intentional as there is no way to differentiate an intentional action from non-intentional using the hook. It should not show the deleted avatar on the front end though. Also, we maintain only 1 copy, on next upload, it goes away.
3. If a user uploads a photo for moderation that is rejected, the “old” folder is also created, but it is empty. The rejected photo is actually deleted/removed completely.
It is probably a bug. We will get back to you next week with test.
4. Can I delete “old” folder
Yes, It won’t have any side effect.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.