BuddyDev

Search

Groups with Forums, Joining Groups and Group Descriptions

• Participant
    Level: Master
    Mike (DesignServe) on #26173

Hi Brajesh,

I really shouldn’t be saying that I’m new to Buddypress and Bbpress by now. The reason I still feel new, I think, is because I came to WordPress, Buddypress and Bbpress at the same time. I think that is the reason I struggle to understand which feature comes from each of them sometimes. Anyway, I hope you can help me to understand a few things and to make some changes (whether they are big or small I’m not sure).

GROUP FORUMS
    I wanted Group forums so that when a user gains a Member Type from your plugins they are automatically added to a Group and its Forum. It works well and I like it.

However, I didn’t like how the display of the Forums got laid-out with “Group Forums” as a ‘category’ with sub-forums because I need the users to be able to read the forum description at the top level. Therefore, I changed my Group Forums to display at the top level. In the backend it says that this is not recommended. Can you say why? Is it only because of the potential slug clashes?

‘JOINING’ FORUMS (or Groups)
    In my Group Forums, users can’t post unless they join the group. I suppose that is intended behaviour but I would like something diferent, if it is possible.

1 – Best option for me – Is it possible to keep the behaviour I described above (adding Member Type joins them to Group and Forum) but to still allow any member to post in any forum, including group forums?

2 – If that is not possible, is it possible to change the forum message from “YOU CANNOT CREATE NEW TOPICS” and “YOU CANNOT REPLY TO THIS TOPIC” to “Join this Group to post a Topic or Reply [JOIN BUTTON]”? The messages “YOU CANNOT….” if offputting, it leads users to think they are not supposed to try.

GROUP DESCRIPTIONS