BuddyDev

Search

Issue with notifications

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 4
    Laurent Simonneau on #44915

    Hello I installed your plugin on my website but after translating it into french (with locco translate) it broke. Can you please tell me what I did wrong and how to solve that? I was thinking I did something wrong while translating but now I deleted the plugin and re-uploaded and I still have the same, even in english. Please, can you help me out? Thanks

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 4
    Laurent Simonneau on #44916
    This reply has been marked as private.
  • Keymaster
    Level: Yogi
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 2489
    Ravi on #44925

    Hello Laurent,

    Sorry for the inconvenience. Please let me know which template pack and theme you are using?.

    Regards
    Ravi

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 4
    Laurent Simonneau on #44929

    Hello, I’m using Gwangi theme 2.4.1. but we checked with my developer it’s seems it’s a broken markup.
    Actually it’s the href attribute that is broken as it contains HTML in it but we can’t understand what’s causing it.

  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 22178
    Brajesh Singh on #44937

    Hi Laurent,
    Thank you.
    I had a look and I can see the issue.

    BuddyPress allows components to register a notification callback. This notification callback is passed either ‘string’ or ‘array’ while being called for preparing notification.

    The best practices for BuddyPress is to use the Link(anchor element) for ‘string’ format and use an array of text/link(this link points to url of the notifiable object).

    It seems your theme or the code used for rendering notifications is using their own custom notification renderer and calling the notification callback incorrectly with ‘string’ instead of array.

    We do have access to Gwangi theme and I will be getting back to you within 24 hours with exact solution/recommendation.

    Regards
    Brajesh

  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 22178
    Brajesh Singh on #44947

    Hi Laurent,
    Thank you for your patience.

    I have tested the plugin with Gwangi theme and it is working fine. So, I believe there is no issue with the theme.

    https://i.ibb.co/rmNw1N8/Selection-502.png

    It seems the translation broke(It is still our bug). It seems the object format, test has some issue.

    For the time being, Please visit Dashboard->Loco Translate->plugins and delete the translation for this plugin. That should temporarily fix the error.

    we will be releasing an update on Monday with escaped translation string.

    PS:- If possible, Please download your translation and share it with me. It will help us understand what caused the notifications to break.

    Thank you
    Brajesh

  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 22178
    Brajesh Singh on #44955

    Hi Laurent,
    Hope you are doing well.

    Before I push the release, can you please provide me the translation files to test. That will help me avoid any future issue.

    Thank you
    Brajesh

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 4
    Laurent Simonneau on #44956
    This reply has been marked as private.
  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 22178
    Brajesh Singh on #44957

    Thank you.
    I am not seeing anything wrong with your translations.

    is there any other plugin(such as Youzer/youzify or something else ) you are using that might have effect on the display?

    Regards
    Brajesh

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 4
    Laurent Simonneau on #44961

    Hello, yes you are right, I have youzify installed. And there could indeed be a conflict with the notifs as youzify has that ability too.
    Thanks

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

This topic is: not resolved