BuddyDev

Search

Limit Friend Requests plugin not limiting

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 2
    Robert Lawry on #16836

    Hi,
    I installed and activated the plugin.
    Then went to the Buddypress settings and set the limiting to 1 friend request in 5 minutes.
    I confirmed the settings were saved.
    Yet I was able to send several requests in one minute.

    Please advise if I am missing something or what I might need to adjust.

    Kindest,
    Robert

  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 21785
    Brajesh Singh on #16837

    Hi Robert,
    Welcome to BuddyDev.

    This plugin has not been tested with 3.1. Please allow me to test it with 3.1 today and post an update.

    Thank you
    Brajesh

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 2
    Robert Lawry on #16872

    Hi Brajesh,
    Thank you for taking a look.
    Please let me know when you have figured something out.
    Thanks,
    Robert

  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 21785
    Brajesh Singh on #16873

    Hi Robert,
    Thank you for the patience.

    Please upgrade to 1.0.1
    https://buddydev.com/plugins/bp-limit-friendship-request/

    It will work with the legacy as well as the Nouveau template pack.

    Please let me know how it goes.

    Regards
    Brajesh

  • Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Posts: 2
    Robert Lawry on #16881

    Hi Brajesh,

    It is working now.
    I did notice it doesnt work if you are logged in as an admin. I had to login under a different regular user account to see it work.

    I see the error message replaces the button which is acceptable, but I think it would be even better if the error message could be in a message box like the other buddypress error/notification messages or even better might be a popup message.
    (Or maybe that just wouldn’t work with the friend button as designed in the core files?)

    Thank you for your help Brajesh.

  • Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Posts: 21785
    Brajesh Singh on #16883

    Hi Robert,
    Thank you for confirming.

    You are right about admin. We don’t apply restrictions on admin.

    About the message, if you enable the BP Nouveau template pack, The message will be shown in a fading infobox.

    Including a popup for a smaller plugin like this will be a bad thing for site speed. That’s why we have kept it minimal. Also, we do not do much on the client side. The error message is actually handled by theme(Yes, we simply send it to the theme from server) and It mostly depends on how they do it.

    Most of the theme in market is based on BP legacy which replaces content in place. The new BP Nouveau template shows a infobox.

    Regards
    Brajesh

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

This topic is: not resolved