BuddyDev

Search

[Resolved] PHP7

• Participant
    Level: Initiated
    Mark Constable on #2096

Hi, just wondering if anyone has MediaPress running under nginx, WP 4.5 and PHP7?

I’m not seeing images appear in activities, or elsewhere, but I have never used this plugin before so I’m not 100% sure what to expect. I also notice a few errors nginx errors…

mediapress/templates/mediapress/default/assets/images/-thumbnail.png” failed (2: No such file or directory

which leads me to think there might be some variables not set right. This was a PHP warning…

PHP Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/u/goldcoast.org/var/www/wp-content/plugins/mediapress/admin/class-mpp-admin-post-helper.php on line 426

• Keymaster
    (BuddyDev Team)
    Brajesh Singh on #2102

Hi Mark,
    Welcome to BuddyDev and thank you for using MediaPress. My apologies for the delayed reply.

We haven’t tested it yet with PHP 7. The above error may be related to the way php 7 handles variable variable.

But before that, Can you please check from Dashboard->MediaPress and see if the gallery showing the error is assigned a type. It can be caused by a gallery having no type assigned.

Also, Did you configure the MediaPress settings before? Just trying to gauge an Idea. I will be installing and checking on PHP 7 this weekend. The plugin works great with nginx on php 5.5.9 (The demo server is running with the same configuration). So, I am not sure if nginx will be an issue here.

Can you please try the above suggestion and let me know what you see there?

Thank you
    Brajesh

• Participant
    Mark Constable on #2113

Thanks for your feedback. I have not used any WP gallery plugin before so I’m not sure what to expect but I have turned on (yes’ified) and selected every option until I understand how the plugin works and then will disable what I do not need later. Sitewide, Members and Group galleries have all types selected if that is what you mean?